Material Physics

Tehostekuvassa iloisia opiskelijoita.

The mission of the material physics is to carry out research at the highest international level and to train students in research. The cornerstone of the activity is the solid integration of research and educational efforts.

The quality of our research is closely linked to collaboration with large international facilities such as ESRF, CERN and ITER. The work undertaken by the experimentalists and computational scientists in the division covers a very wide range, from nanostructured materials to biomaterials. The division publishes about 110 international scientific articles per year. The Division of Materials Physics has now 56 members, including 18 academic staff and 27 Ph.D. students, in addition to supportive staff of 11.

Division director: Professor Jyrki Räisänen
Division secretary: Tuire Savolainen